Mobile App Autosave Feature
The TrueContext Mobile App automatically saves your work as you navigate between pages and fields. This section outlines when the app runs an autosave and how form designers can help to ensure timely autosaves.
Available on all tiers:
Contents
When does the Mobile App autosave?
The Mobile App autosaves when you:
-
Move to a new page in the form.
-
Save and close a Repeatable Section entry.
-
Navigate between Repeatable Section entries.
-
Open your device’s camera to take a picture.
-
Open your device’s photo library to upload an image.
-
Open a Sketchpad question. The Mobile App also autosaves in Sketchpad questions whenever you:
-
Upload an image from your device’s photo library.
-
Select a satellite map image.
-
The autosave runs in the background without interrupting your work.
What happens to your autosaved work?
Autosaves save your in-progress work to a local file on your device. They protect against unexpected data loss if the Mobile App crashes or closes suddenly.
If the Mobile App closes unexpectedly, the next time you open the app it prompts you to recover your unsaved work. You can choose to recover the record or discard it.
The recovery prompt only appears after an unexpected close.
Best practice to ensure timely autosaves
Break up a long form into different pages. The app autosaves when users move from one page to another. Another benefit is that field users can access a page index to help them find a specific page.